Free songs

Dropkick Murphys – Signed and Sealed in Blood

Mar 21 • International News, Releases, Reviews, The Slumbering Ent • 1968 Views • No Comments on Dropkick Murphys – Signed and Sealed in Blood

Note: Our reviewer Dixit Sambyal thought it was time to put down that grim metal look for a moment and have some legit something non metal. Here he reviews the punk rock outfit Dropkick Murphys’ new album.

Dropkick Murphys - Signed and Sealed in Blood

Dropkick Murphys – Signed and Sealed in Blood – Album Cover


  1. “The Boys Are Back” – 3:20
  2. “Prisoner’s Song” – 2:37
  3. “Rose Tattoo” – 5:06
  4. “Burn” – 2:39
  5. “Jimmy Collins’ Wake” (words written by Richard Johnson) – 2:59
  6. “The Season’s Upon Us” – 4:02
  7. “The Battle Rages On” – 2:17
  8. “Don’t Tear Us Apart” – 3:01
  9. “My Hero” – 3:10
  10. “Out on the Town” – 3:02
  11. “Out of our Heads” – 3:11
  12. “End of the Night” – 5:17

“The Boys are back and they are looking for trouble” is what they say in the opening track and yeah the Boston based Celtic punks are backwith Accordions, tin whistles, bagpipes , banjo, mandolin and what not. No more political issues , no social causes to discuss and yeah, no story telling this time like they did on their last album “Going Out in Style”. Just some loud , fast(few mid tempo tunes too) and catchy tunes which are fun to sing along .

“Signed and Sealed in Blood” released on 8th January is bit different from band’s previous works as their music has evolved over the past few years.

Powerful vocals and a loud chorus gives a realistic feel to the 2nd track “Prisoner’s Song”, you can imagine the song, like the title suggested being sung out loud in a prison. Album’s lead single “Rose Tattoo” features Winston Marshall of Mumford  & Sons on banjo. It is the most remarkable track on the album . “Jimmy Collins’ Wake” is an eulogy/tribute to James Joseph Collins
(January 16, 1870 – March 6, 1943),a professional baseball player who was also the first manager of the Boston Red Sox , then known as the Boston Americans. He was the winning manager in the first-ever World Series.
“The Season’s Upon Us” is a funny Christmas song about a dysfunctional family and it is my personal favorite from the album.

“Out on the Town” came as surprise, it’s a funky and groovy track , makes you wanna move your feet to the tune. This track is something new from the band , something unexpected.

“Here we go, here we go,We’re out of our heads, and it’s starting to show  Here we go, here we go The roof is on fire and it’s ready to blow” is what they shout out loud in the track “Out of our Heads” which opens with the bagpipes and is another addition to their singalong tunes.

“End of the Night” is the perfect track to end the album, a slow track with lyrics which give a great ending to the album and slow tempo music which fades towards the end makes it more awesome. The album also offers some fast punk rock tracks like “The Battle Rages On” , “Burn” , “My Hero” .

Its a wonderful album, each track is different from the next and the production is top notch to say the least, you can hear each and every instrument making its presence felt throughout the album. Every song has a different emotional element ranging from aggression to melancholia and happiness to family love. The powerful vocals and strong choruses synchronized with the variety of instruments make this a great listening experience.


This was posted on Metal Spree on 2013/01/30.

The following two tabs change content below.

Sanath Kumar

Owner, Digital Marketing Ninja at Metalbase India
Metalhead, digital geek by profession. Loves Rock N Roll and shoots concerts.

Related Posts

« »